Transplant News Network

A SERVICE OF CenterSpan home
[return to the TNN menu]

Three Transplant Pioneers Receive the Medawar Prize

MONTREAL · August 1, 1998 · by TNN Medical Reporter Virginia Baskerville

At its 17th World Congress, the Transplantation Society bestowed the 1998 Medawar Prize on Drs. Felix T. Rapaport, of the State University of New York at Stony Brook, and Fritz Bach and Anthony P. Monaco, both of Harvard Medical School.

In a press release, the society noted the achievements of each in advancing the field of transplantation:

The prize is named for Sir Peter Medawar, "a leading 20th Century thinker, Nobel Laureate, and father of transplantation biology," the society said.

CenterSpan home
Copyright © 1998 - 2000 CenterSpan
This site developed and maintained by SLACK Incorporated
Questions or comments? E-mail the Webmaster

Please be aware that medical advice, diagnoses and physician references cannot be obtained from this site.